UN fees

Tonga pays outstanding UN fees – govt

That comes after it was revealed that Tonga was one of seven nations to be denied voting rights at the General Assembly because it hadn't paid its annual fees.

The seven were Tonga, Venezuela, Lebanon, Lesotho, Gambia, Central Africa Republic and Yemen.

However, Tonga's chief secretary Edgar Cocker said the government had now paid the money.

He said it had failed to make the payment due to a mix-up.