Teams named for clash between Crusaders and Chiefs

Fijians Nemani Nadolo, Jone Macilai and Seta Tamanivalu have been named in the run-on lists in the Gallagher Chiefs versus BNZ Crusaders match at the ANZ Stadium, Suva tomorrow night.

Coaches Dave Rennie (Chiefs) and Todd Blackadder (Crusaders) have listed the Fijian stars to play for their home crowd in Super Rugby's round 15 opener.

The top of the table clash could determine who hosts the semi-final in the New Zealand Conference. Nadolo and Macilai pair as wingers while Tamanivalu will feature at outside centre.                               

Crusaders head coach Todd Blackadder has named a near full strength side with seven returning All Blacks in his 23-member touring party. The only omissions are Ryan Crotty and Luke Romano, who are injured.

Meanwhile, Tamanivalu understands that the pressure would be on him to perform here at home in front of his family, friends and fans.

"The main thing that I can do is get the team up," he said.

Without another Fijian and Japan captain and teammate, Michael Leitch of Nasukamai, Ra, Tamanivalu said he would work hard against his countrymen and opposition.

"I got to focus more on my game instead of focusing on other things.

"Just play my own game, focus on what's good for the team so we can get the result," he said.

And if Fijians say that Tamanivalu is the lone Fijian in the Chiefs brigade, Coach Dave Rennie said: "Michael Leitch is Fijian but he's got a cast on him but we call all the Samoan boys Fijians anyway."

The match kick-off is at 7.30pm at ANZ Stadium in Fiji's capital Suva.

Crusaders: 1. Wyatt Crockett , 2. Codie Taylor, 3. Owen Franks, 4. Scott Barrett, 5. Samuel Whitelock, 6. Jordan Taufua, 7. Matt Todd, 8. Kieran Read (c), 9. Andy Ellis, 10. Richie Mo'unga, 11. Nemani Nadolo, 12. David Havili, 13. Kieron Fonotia, 14. Jone Macilai, 15. Israel Dagg. Reserves: 16. Ben Funnell. 17. Joe Moody, 18. Mike Alaalatoa, 19. Jimmy Tupou, 20. Jed Brown, 21. Mitchell Drummond, 22. Mitchell Hunt, 23. Sean Wainui

Chiefs: Kane Hames, Hika Elliot, Hiroshi Yamashita, Dominic Bird, Brodie Retallick, Taleni Seu, Sam Cane (co-capt), Tom Sanders, Brad Weber, Stephen Donald, James Lowe, Anton Lienert-brown, Seta Tamanivalu, Toni Pulu and Damian McKenzie. Reserves: Nathan Harris, Siegfried Fisi'ihoi, Atu Moli, Mitchell Brown, Lachlan Boshier, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Aaron Cruden, Sam McNicol.


Photo: ANZ Stadium Chiefs/Facebook