Fiji and Tonga to contest unofficial Pacific final

Bragging rights are on the line in Lautoka today when Fiji meet Tonga in a Test match that both teams say will determine the Pacific's top rugby team.

Despite Fiji retaining the Pacific Nations Cup this month in a four team tournament that included Tonga, Samoa and Georgia, the competition only featured two rounds.

The Flying Fijians beat Samoa 22-24 and Georgia 37-15 but did not meet Tonga. The 'Ikale Tahi lost to Georgia 15-16 but overcame Samoa 28-18.

Tonga coach Toutai Kefu said the unofficial Pacific crown was up for for grabs.

"I think whoever wins this game can call themselves the kings of the Pacific," Kefu said.

"It's a big game for us. They've set the bench mark in the Pacific for the last couple of years, not just on the field but off the field in terms of governance," he said.

"They've got a wealth of talent especially out wide in the backs but we're not going to focus too much on them. We've got a good set piece and we're going to use that and then we'll play our own brand of football.

"We're going to try and get physical with them, we're going to be direct. So our boys are pumped up. We've got a lot to play for."

Fiji coach John Mckee agreed the Test was effectively a regional title match.

"They've got a very strong team here in Fiji. We will need to be up for the physical challenge," McKee said.

"We know Tonga have got some very dangerous backs as well. We'll have to be right on top of our game defensively," he said.

"We want to stay Pacific number one so we need to win this game to put that beyond doubt."


1. Siegfried Fisi'ihoi, 2. Paula Ngauamo, 3. Siua Halanukonuka, 4. Leva Fifita, 5. Sitiveni Mafi, 6. Maama Vaipulu, 7. Fotu Lokotui, 8. Nasi Manu, 9. Sonatane Takulua 10. Kurt Morath, 11. Penikolo Latu, 12. Cooper Vuna, 13. Nafi Tu'itavake, 14. Viliami Lolohea, 15. David Halaifonua, 16. Sefo Sakalia, 17. Ben Tameifuna, 18. David Feao, 19. Dan Faleafa, 25. Mike Faleafa, 21. Suke Tuumotooa, 22. Latiume Fosita, 23. Jame Faiva.


1. Campese Ma'afu, 2. Tuapati Taleimatoga, 3. Manasa Saulo, 4. Viliame Mata, 5. Leone Nakarawa, 6. Dominiki Waqaniburotu, 7. Mosese Voka, 8. Akapusi Qera, 9. Frank Lomani, 10. Ben Volavola, 11. Nemani Nadolo, 12. Jale Vatabua, 13. Vereniki Goneva, 14. Timoci Nigusa, 15. Kini Murimurivalu, 16. Tuvere Vugakoto, 17. Peni Ravai, 18. Mosese Ducivaki, 19. Albert Tuisue, 20. Nemani Nagusa, 21. Seru Vularika.