Seven changes to Chiefs lineup

The injury ravaged and All Black depleted Chiefs have made seven changes to the side to face the Sharks in their Super Rugby clash in Durban this weekend.

Due to All Blacks commitments Damian McKenzie, Brodie Retallick, Anton Leinert-Brown and Nathan Harris have returned to New Zealand following last week's win over the Stormers in Cape Town.

Add to that the injury toll the chiefs have suffered and they're without a total of 20 players for the match.

In the forwards, Liam Polwart starts at hooker for Harris, Tyler Ardron moves to lock in place of Retallick and Pita Gus Sowakula gets a start in the number eight jersey.

In the backs, Charlie Ngatai moves into centre for Lienert-Brown and Shaun Stevenson starts at fullback.

Replacement player Matt Matich is named in the reserves and could make his debut, while Luteru Laulala will take the number 22 jersey after linking up with the team this week.

Prop Sosefo Kautai who is named on the bench for the first time this season after making four appearances in his debut campaign last year.

It will be co-Captain Ngatai's 50th game for the Chiefs colours.

Head Coach Colin Cooper is looking forward to the challenge the Sharks will bring in Durban.

"We are in our second week of this tough tour and we were very happy to beat the Stormers. We are looking forward to a great contest in Durban against the Sharks. It's going to be another tough game for us, but we are really excited about the challenge ahead. The team has united really quickly and we are certainly looking forward to the challenge in the Shark Tank."

The Chiefs team to take on the Sharks is:

1. Karl Tu'inukuafe

2. Liam Polwart

3. Angus Ta'avao

4. Tyler Ardron

5. Michael Allardice

6. Luke Jacobson

7. Liam Messam

8. Pita Gus Sowakula

9. Brad Weber

10. Marty McKenzie

11. Solomon Alaimalo

12. Johnny Faauli

13. Charlie Ngatai

14. Sean Wainui

15. Shaun Stevenson


16. Samisoni Taukei'aho

17. Sam Prattley

18. Sosefo Kautai

19. Jesse Parete

20. Matt Matich

21. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi

22. Luteru Laulala

23. Toni Pulu