PNG Barramundis continue undefeated run

The HEBOU PNG Barramundis continued their undefeated run at the West Pacific Cup with comfortable victories over Hong Kong ‘A’ and Hong Kong yesterday.

In the morning match against Hong Kong ‘A’, the Hebou PNG Barramundis fought hard and were eventually bowled out for 159 in the 20th over with Sese Bau (65) and Tony Ura (40) the main contributors with the bat. Aftab Hussain (4/25) and Hasan Mohammad (3/22) were the pick of the Hong Kong ‘A’ bowlers, taking seven (7) Barramundis’ wickets between them.

In reply, the Hong Kong ‘A’ batsmen were no match for the Barramundis’ bowling attack, eventually being bowled out for only 105 in 17.3 overs with Simondeep Singh (32) top scoring Hong Kong ‘A’. With the ball for the Barramundis, Nosaina Pokana (3/20) picked up three wickets while the spin-twins of Jason Kila (2/16) and Charles Amini Jnr (2/16) picked up a couple of wickets apiece.

In the afternoon match, the Barramundis batted first again and posted a respectable 7/165 off their allotted 20 overs with Assad Vala (58) notching up his first half century of the tour while Tony Ura (25), Charles Amini Jnr (19) and Jason Kila (19) all made valuable contributions with the bat while Ehshan Khan (2/17) and Mohammad Ghazanfar (2/42) picked up a couple of wickets each for Hong Kong.  

In reply, the Barras bowled brilliantly to bowl out Hong Kong for 128 in the 19th over. Jason Kila (3/11) continued his great form with the ball, picking up three wickets as did Nosaina Pokana (3/33) while Babar Hayat (48) top scored for Hong Kong.    

The West Pacific Cup continues today with the Hebou PNG Barramundis taking on Hong Kong with the final to take place tomorrow.

The West Pacific Cup is a T20 Competition featuring the Hebou PNG Barramundis, Hong Kong and Hong Kong ‘A’ and will be played from 23-27th October, 2018.     

Match Summaries

Wednesday 24th October, 2018

Match 3: Hebou PNG Barramundis 10/159 (19.3) Sese Bau 65 (49), Tony Ura 40 (18), Aftab Hussain 4/25 (3.3), Hasan Mohammad 3/22 (4) defeated Hong Kong ‘A’ 10/105 (17.3) Simondeep Singh 32 (22), Nosaina Pokana 3/20 (3), Jason Kila 2/16 (4), Charles Amini Jnr 2/16 (4) by 54 runs

Match 4: Hebou PNG Barramundis 7/165 (20) Assad Vala 58 (39), Tony Ura 25 (14), Charles Amini Jnr 19 (14), Jason Kila 19 (11), Ehsan Khan 2/17 (4), Mohammad Ghazanfar 2/42 (4) defeated Hong Kong 10/128 (18.2) Babar Hayat 48 (31), Ehsan Khan 22 (20), Aizaz Khan 21 (15), Jason Kila 3/11 (4), Nosaina Pokana 3/33 (4), Norman Vanua 2/30 (3.2) by 37 runs  

HEBOU PNG Barramundis squad

1. Assad Vala

2. Tony Ura

3. Charles Amini Jnr

4. Sese Bau

5. Lega Siaka

6. Kipling Doriga

7. Dogodo Bau

8. Jason Kila

9. Norman Vanua

10. Nosaina Pokana

11. John Boge Reva

12. Chad Soper

13. Damien Ravu

14. Anthony Vare

Hebou PNG Barramundis Fixtures

West Pacific Cup (T20)

Tuesday 23rd October, 2018:      

1:30pm   Hebou PNG Barramundis defeated Hong Kong 'A' by 139 runs

Wednesday 24th October, 2018:

9:30am   Hebou PNG Barramundis defeated Hong Kong ‘A’ by 54 runs

1:30pm   Hebou PNG Barramundis defeated Hong Kong by 37 runs

Thursday 25th October, 2018

1:30pm    Hebou PNG Barramundis vs Hong Kong

Friday 27th October, 2018

1:30pm    Final

South China Cup (50 Over)

Saturday 28th October, 2018:  Hebou PNG Barramundis vs Hong Kong

Monday 30th October, 2018:    Hebou PNG Barramundis vs Hong Kong

Thursday 1st November, 2018:    Hebou PNG Barramundis vs Hong Kong

Press release