no-confidence motion

Tongan govt expects no-confidence motion

This week the party leader 'Akilisi Pohiva was re-elected as Prime Minister in a parliamentary vote, 14 to 12.

The result came off a comprehensive November election victory, where Mr Pohiva's Democratic Party won 14 of the 17 people's seats.

There have been calls for parliament to operate in a more collegial manner after August's shock dissolution of the House.

Tongan PM not worried about no-confidence motion

The motion was submitted this week and signed by seven Noble Representatives and three People's MPs including former Deputy Prime Minister Samiu Vaipulu and sacked Internal Affairs Minister Fe'ao Vakata.

'Akilisi Pohiva said he continued to have the majority support of the 26-member parliament.

The motion is currently before the Parliamentary Privileges Standing Committee before a date for the motion is announced.

Mr Pohiva said he wanted to know on what basis the motion had been submitted.