UN voting rights

Tonga loses UN voting rights

The United Nations said the seven were so far behind in paying their dues that they are losing their voting privileges in the 193-member General Assembly.

The seven are Tonga, Venezuela, Lebanon, Lesotho, Gambia, Central Africa Republic and Yemen.

A UN spokesman said three other countries - Comoros, Sao Tome and Principe and Somalia - were also in arrears but the assembly decided they could retain their vote until September.