10 MPs file motion of no confidence against Tongan PM

A motion for a vote of no confidence against Tongan Prime Minister Hu'akavameiliku Siaosi Sovaleni has been filed in the country's parliament.

The motion was filed on Tuesday by 10 MPs.

An MP who does not wish to be named, told Matangi Tonga that eight people's representatives and two noble representatives had submitted the motion.

No further details have emerged.

There are 26 seats in Tonga's Legislative Assembly comprising nine noble's representatives and 17 people's representatives have 17.