British elections

May to form minority 'government of certainty'

Mrs May is to stay in office with the support of her "friends" in the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) after the Conservatives failed to win a majority in the snap election she called

With all seats declared, the Conservative Party has 318 seats, Labour 262, the Scottish National Party (SNP) 35, the Liberal Democrats 12 and the Democratic Unionist Party 10. Sinn Fein, which doesn't take up its seats at Westminster, has 7 seats and other parties 6. Other parties gained six seats.