Tourism Ministry

Supreme Court Rules Tourism Minister Acted Unlawfully in Dismissing Four Directors

Lord Chief Justice Paulsen told the Supreme Court that four people, Tomifa Paea, Simana Kami, Finau Uata and Kisione Pakalani were appointed by Cabinet as directors of the board under the Tonga Tourism Authority Act 2012.

Kaniva News reports their appointments were confirmed for a period of up to three years by the then minister. ‘Etuate Lavulavu.

On June 17 2016 the new Tourism Minister, Semisi Sika, wrote to them, saying they had only been appointed for the balance of the term of a resigning director who they had replaced and that their appointments had expired.