Tongatapu 10 by-election set for 13 July

The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, Lord Fakafanua, issued to the Electoral Commission, a writ of election to elect a new Parliamentary Rep for the constituency.

The date for the by-election was confirmed after consultation between the Lord Speaker of Parliament and the Chairman of the Electoral Commission, Lord Dalgety K.C, as required by the Legislative Assembly Act.

The seat was vacant following the passing of Pohiva Tu’i’onetoa, on 18 March 2023.

Provisional results show Johnny Taione wins Tonga by-election

The first runner up is Viliami Sisifā while the third is the PTOA (Democrats) candidate Sosefo Ngavisi Hēhea.

Candidate Sipaisi Kutu is in fourth place reports Kaniva News.

There were four candidates contesting the vacant seat.

Tongatapu 8 voters went to the polls Friday morning to elect a candidate to replace their former PTOA MP, the late Sēmisi Fakahau.

Tongatapu 8 is regarded as a PTOA stronghold.

Five candidates to contest Tonga by-election

At the close of registration Wednesday, the Electoral Commission confirmed the following candidates:

  1. Soane Lutoviko Hamala           :Kolonga, Tongatapu
  2. ‘Anitelu Tahatolu Ma’u              :Kolonga, Tongatapu
  3. Malia Peata Sioko Noa             :Kolonga, Tongatapu
  4. Keleni Nesi Filikitonga              :Kolonga, Tongatapu
  5. ‘Aisea Tikoipau                         :Kolonga, Tongatapu

The by-election will be held on Thursday, 9 July 2020 at the following polling places

Tonga Electoral Commission prepares for by-election

The candidates are Sione Tofiholoaki Taumoepeau, Soane Patita Taani Tahi (A.K.A) Silo Tahi, Sateki Tau Tangipo and Fifita Malaloi Lolohea.

The position was left vacant following the recent retirement of the town officer, Siope Lolo Tu’i’onetoa from office.

The by-election will be held on Thursday, 18 June 2020.

Voting will be held at the following places:

Pea, Tongatapu                                     : FWC HALL, Pea

Kahoua, Tongatapu                               : Hall, The Church of Jesus Christ of the Latter-Day Saints

Tonga by-election date announced

Mateni Tapueluelu held Tongatapu 4’s seat with 783 votes while the seat for Vava’u 16 was held by ‘Etuate Sungalu Lavulavu with 767 votes.

Nominations date has yet to be announced.